Review: Follow Me Back by A.V. Geiger

Cover of Follow Me Back by A.V. Geiger

Title: Follow Me Back
Author: A.V. Geiger
ISBN: 1492645230
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire / Wattpad
Publication date: June 6, 2017
Page count: 368
Genre: Contemporary YA
Source: NetGalley
Rating: 2/5 stars

Summary (from GoodReads): Tessa Hart’s world feels very small. Confined to her bedroom with agoraphobia, her one escape is the online fandom for pop sensation Eric Thorn. When he tweets to his fans, it’s like his speaking directly to her…Eric Thorn is frightened by his obsessive fans. They take their devotion way too far. It doesn’t help that his PR team keeps posting to encourage their fantasies. When a fellow pop star is murdered at the hands of a fan, Eric knows he has to do something to shatter his online image fast—like take down one of his top Twitter followers. But Eric’s plan to troll @TessaHeartsEric unexpectedly evolves into an online relationship deeper than either could have imagined. And when the two arrange to meet IRL, what should have made for the world’s best episode of Catfish takes a deadly turn…Told through tweets, direct messages, and police transcripts.

Review: Ok. Look. I’ve read some seriously top-notch fanfiction over the years – fantastically written, well-researched, the whole gamut. I have deep, deep respect for fanfiction writers. I also really enjoy YA, and I know that so much of YA can and does have appeal beyond the YA-aged audience.

But this reads like very underdeveloped, sophomoroic, wish-fulfillment fanfiction by a very, very young person.

This just felt…young. Not in topic, but the writing style. Yes, there was a plot. There were twists and turns. But it is ALL telling and nooooo showing. It’s a bit like a paint-by-numbers book. I am holding your hand and telling you every single thing I want you to see/hear/think, and I’m not leaving anything up to interpretation. No metaphors. No subtext.

For a while I thought this would be a 3-star read – it’s fast, it’s easy to read, the police interrogation documents keep you wondering what all this tweeting and DM-ing can possible lead to. But. Nah. I didn’t hate it – but I rolled my eyes. A LOT. And by the 70% mark I was skimming a lot of the filler text. At that point, I just wanted to see the resolution, so I didn’t waste a ton of time on reading every word carefully (because by then I knew that I wasn’t going to miss a great turn of phrase or something particularly underline-worthy).

SPOIILER:

The “twist” ending felt soooooo tacked on. Boooooo. It felt like a total last ditch effort to make people talk about this book. “OMG! What do you think happened?! Why?!? How?!?” I don’t care. I see in GoodReads that there is a sequel forthcoming – I will not be reading it.

If you need a high calorie snack type of book, this is your bag of greasy potato chips. I’m not angry that I read it, but I can tell that I will spend exactly 0 minutes thinking about it in the future.

This books was provided to me by NetGalley and the publisher in exchage for an honest review. Thanks to both.

Leave a Reply

