Friday Reads: March 17, 2017

4 pics: top left, cover of book Girl Mans Up by M-E Girard; top right, cover of book Rolling Blackouts by Sarah Glidden; bottom left, cover of book Octopus Pie Vol 1; bottom right text with #FridayReads March 17, 2017 / leveledupreading.wordpress.comWhew, it was kind of a bad book week for me last week! I DNF’d one book and didn’t love another that I read – this doesn’t happen to me all that often. Or maybe I’m just becoming more critical/curmudgeonly.  🤔

In any case, I decided to hit the library this week for something fresh. I’ve been meaning to check out Girl Mans Up since Liberty talked about it on the All the Books podcast. Rolling Blackouts has been on my radar for a while too – I super love graphic novels for history – and I was SO excited to see that my library acquired it recently! I thought for sure I was going to have to ILL it, so when I saw it just waiting for me on the shelf, I straight up swooned audibly.  I’ve seen Octopus Pie on the shelves in the YA Graphic Novels section a few times and was happy to find Volume 1 there this time. 

Do you read multiple books at the same time? It’s a pretty recent change to my reading habits, but I do enjoy having a couple things going at once. This represents a fairly typical spread – I usually don’t double up on book types simultaneously, so in this case I’ve got a novel, a non-fiction graphic novel and another fiction/comics trade. They’re different enough for me to serve different moods or reading opportunities. Being home with kids means sometimes I only have time for just a few pages of comics, other times I know they’re engaged enough that I might sneak in a chapter or two of a novel.

What are you reading this weekend? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

